We understand the uncertainty around information sharing and we want to help you understand how we obtain information, where we get it from and how you can control it.
Pipl is a search engine, like Google or Bing, that consolidates publicly available people information found in both online and offline sources.
What kind of information is available on Pipl and how do you acquire it?
Pipl finds pieces of public information and consolidates it for you in one profile. This means that if the information is publicly available, both online and offline, we find it, consolidate it and present it in the people search engine results page.
The types of information we feature in a profile include:
- Contact: name, addresses, emails, and phone numbers
- Demographic: age, gender, education, and known associates
- Professional: occupation, employment history
- Social Media: profiles, usernames
- Other: Photos, blog posts, media & publication mentions
To find online information, the people search engine:
- Crawls and indexes public web pages that are accessible to everyone on the web (like any other search engine)
- Extracts information like names, phones and pictures from these pages
- Uses our proprietary technology to cluster the information into personal profiles
Who’s sharing personal information?
Anytime you create a profile on a website, you are sharing information online. This is not limited to just social networks like Facebook or Twitter– eCommerce sites, forums, blogs, etc., also collect your information. All of these sites contain user profiles or public content related to users, meaning this information is free for the world to see.
Offline sources include publicly available information in phone books, public records, business contact lists, marketing lists, and publications.
What control do I have over my personal information?
Most websites have customizable privacy settings to hide email addresses, telephone numbers, pictures, friends, or to remove your entire profile. Since Pipl provides only publicly available information to our users, updating your privacy settings will ensure your information is not included in our search results. Also, source websites, in most cases, will remove your information upon request. Once the data is removed from the source, a link should no longer appear in our results page.